Ginger Soy Chicken

adapted from Rachel Ray by Lori Ann Spears
3 tbsp cooking oil (I use olive oil for everything, but that’s why my smoke alarm goes off every night)
1 1/4 chicken breasts, cut into pieces (mine are tiny pieces as I have small children, but strips would be nice too)
Coarse black pepper
1/2-ish tsp ginger (I just sprinkle it on in so I don’t really know how much)
1/2-ish tsp garlic salt
1 bunch green onions chopped
between 1/4 and 1/2 cup soy sauce (I don’t measure this one either, but enough to coat chicken and make a good sauce)
3 generous Tbsp honey
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes ( when I make this at home I omit the red pepper for my kids, but when I make for others the red pepper makes it that much better)
1 head ice burg lettuce chopped
4 servings cooked rice (I just use brown minute rice)

Heat oil in a skillet over high heat.  Add the chicken.  Fry for a minute to sear the edges of the meat, stirring often.  Add ginger, garlic salt, black pepper and red pepper.  Cook until chicken is cooked, stirring often.  Add scallions and honey, stir to coat chicken with honey.  Add soy sauce and cook for about another minute.  Remove from heat and add rice.  Serve over lettuce.

Leave a Reply

