Fiesta Pinwheels

contributed by Laura Thompson, from allrecipes.com

I’ll give the recipe in it’s original form, and then tell you about some changes that I made.

Ingredients:

8 oz package cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup sour cream

1/4 cup picante sauce

2 tablespoons taco seasoning mix (I used a tsp–2 tbs seemed overwhelming)

1 dash garlic powder (I omitted, there’s garlic in the taco seasoning)

1 4.5 oz can chopped ripe olives (I only used half the can)

1 4 oz can chopped green chiles (again-half the can–they can get spicy)

1 cup finely shredded cheddar cheese (I used Mexican cheese blend)

1/2 cup thinly sliced green onions (I did 1/4 cup-my family isn’t in to onions)

8 10 inch flour tortillas–room temp

salsa (for serving)

Method:

in a mixing bowl, beat cream cheese, sour cream, picante sauce, taco seasoning, and garlic powder until smooth. Stir in olives, chiles, cheese, and onions. Spread about 1/2 cup onto each tortilla. Roll up jelly roll style, wrap in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 2 hrs or overnight. Slice into 1 inch pieces. Serve with salsa.

I found that letting my tortillas come to room temp really helped them not to crack and break as I rolled them. I had not done that before, and I really noticed a difference.

Enjoy! 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

