Irresistible Peanut Butter Cookies (with chocolate chips if you want!)

This recipe comes off the Crisco Butter Flavored Shortening sticks. I have never baked with them before today, but my mother in law swears by them, so I tried them out, and oh my goodness. These cookies are incredible. So here is the recipe! (I should also say that the recipe didn’t include chocolate chips. I added them because…well, why not!!! 🙂

3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 stick Crisco butter flavored shortening sticks
1 and 1/4 firmly packed brown sugar
3 tbs milk
1 tbs (yes, a tablespoon, I thought it was a typo) of vanilla
1 large egg
1 and 3/4 cup flour
3/4 tsp baking soda
3/4 tsp salt
1 tablespoon of cinnamon
about 2 cups of chocolate chips

heat oven to 375
combine peanut butter, shortening, brown sugar, milk, and vanilla extract in large bowl. Beat at medium speed until well blended. Add egg, beat until just blended. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon, and add to creamed mixture at low speed. Mix in chocolate chips.

Drop by rounded measuring tablespoonfuls of dough 2 inches apart (this recipe said greased baking sheet…I didn’t grease mine and I had no problems)

bake 7-8 minutes (mine only needed 7) until just set and beginning to brown at the edges. Remove, and allow to cool on baking sheet for 2 minutes, then remove to cooling racks (or parchment paper on the counter, in my case) to cool completely.

I tried leaving my cookies in the oven for 9 minutes and almost burnt a batch, so that cooling for 2 minutes thing really seems to give them the last little bit of baking that they need without getting overdone.

Hope you enjoy! 🙂

Laura

Leave a Reply

