Beef Enchilada Casserole

submitted by Laura Thompson

This recipe is supposed to be made in a round deep casserole dish. I don’t own one, so I made it in a glass 9×13 pan and it worked great.

Ingredients:

…1 lb ground beef

1 packet taco seasoning

The recipe called for 1/4 tsp salt, but I didn’t put it in, and I didn’t miss it-and I like salty food!

1 10oz can enchilada sauce (red or green)

3/4 cup water

1/2 cup medium thick and chunky salsa (I actually FORGOT this completely and I didn’t miss it, I will try it with it next time)

12 6 inch yellow corn tortillas

1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped, divided

1 cup shredded cheese (any kind, I used cheddar and Monterey Jack because it’s what I had)

1. Combine beef, seasoning mix and salt (if you decide to use it) in a skillet, cook over meduim high heat until no longer pink, drain

add enchilada sauce, water, and salsa to skillet, bring to a simmer, and then remove from heat

2. as your beef cooks, place tortillas in a stack and cut into 1 inch strips using your pizza cutter. That pizza cutter worked great. I couldn’t believe it.

3. Lightly spray your cassarole dish with non stick spray, and arrange half the tortillas evenly over the botto. Top with half the beef mixture, half, the cheese, and half the cilantro

Top with remaining tortillas, and finish with beef mixture, and cheese.

4. HERE’S THE FABULOUS KICKER: put it in your microwave on high for about 5 minutes or until cheese is totally melted. Garnish with the rest of the cilantro.

Serve with sour cream, salsa, refried beans, chips, whatever.

I have NEVER microwaved a casserole before and if someone told me to do it I’d think they were nuts, but it WORKED, and it didn’t taste like a microwave meal.

I did put too much of the beef mixture on the bottom half and didn’t have quite enough to cover the top, but I had used a 19 oz can of enchilada sauce and I used that to spread out the remaining meat so it covered everything.

I also made some pico de gallo with tomatoes, green onion, and cilantro…that was a great garnish.

My family devoured this like they’d never eaten before…I hope it works for you too!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

